Kubernetes Rollback

Updated 16 hours ago by Michael Cretzman

If a Harness Kubernetes deployment fails, Harness will rollback to the last successful version of your workload.

Harness follows standard Kubernetes behavior during rollback. See kubectl rollout undo.

Workload Rollback Only

Rollback rolls back workloads only. If there are other objects or operations executed in your Workflow or Pipeline, Harness does not roll those back.

In Harness, a managed workload is a Deployment, StatefulSet, or DaemonSet object deployed and managed to steady state.

Harness Canary and Blue/Green Workflow default steps support a single Deployment workload as a managed entity.

Rolling Workflow default steps support Deployment, StatefulSet, or DaemonSet as managed workloads, but not Jobs.

You can deploy any Kubernetes workload in any Workflow type by using a Harness annotation to make it unmanaged (harness.io/direct-apply).

The Apply Step can deploy any workloads or objects in any Workflow type as a managed workload.

OpenShift: Harness supports OpenShift DeploymentConfig in OpenShift clusters as a managed workload across Canary, Blue Green, and Rolling deployment strategies. Please use apiVersion: apps.openshift.io/v1 and not apiVersion: v1.

Scaling and Rollback

Each time Harness deploys, the deployment gets new replicas that get scaled up and the old replicas are scaled down.

By default, Kubernetes keeps the last 10 revisions as ReplicaSets.

When Harness performs rollback it identifies which revision number to use (rollback-to). Harness identifies that last successful ReplicaSet, and selects it to be scaled up.

Rollback and Artifacts

The artifact(s) used for the replicas that are scaled up as part of rollback are simply the artifact(s) from the time that version was deployed.

Blue/Green Rollbacks

In the case of Blue/Green, the resources are not versioned because a Blue/Green deployment uses rapid rollback: network traffic is simply routed back to the original instances.

You do not need to redeploy previous versions of the service/artifact and the instances that comprised their environment.

Rollback Command

You can add a Rollback Deployment command to the Rollback Steps in your Workflow to roll back the workloads deployed by the Rollout Deployment step.

Simply add this command to the Rollback Steps in a Workflow where you want to initiate a rollback. Note that this command applies to the deployments of the Rollout Deployment command, and not the Apply Step command.

See Also


How did we do?