Migrating to Harness Community

Updated 1 week ago by Michael Katz

If you choose to move from your full-featured trial of Harness Professional to our free Community Edition, you'll need to adjust any premium features you've configured. This page covers the range of prompts that Harness Manager might display when you migrate. These fall into three categories:

If your configuration does not exceed any Harness Community limitations, Harness Manager's migration wizard will allow you to proceed without any of these prompts. To review all Harness Community limitations—and how they compare with the premium features available in Harness Professional—see Harness Editions.

For Harness Community support, please see the Harness Community Forum.

Usage Limits to Select

Harness Community imposes numerical limits on some Harness features. Prompts in this category will guide you through selecting which among your configured entities you want to keep.

Users: Harness Community accounts are restricted to 5 users. (Harness Professional accounts allow unlimited users.) When you migrate, Harness Manager will prompt you to select 5 (or fewer) users to carry over to your Community account.

Delegates: Harness Community accounts are restricted to a single Delegate. (Harness Professional accounts allow unlimited Delegates.) Upon migrating, you'll be prompted to select which Delegate to keep. Other installed Delegates will be deleted within 30 minutes of migration.

Repositories: Harness Community allows Git Operations (GitOps) from only a single repository. (Harness Professional allows GitOps based on multiple repositories; also, both the Professional and Community versions support Git synchronization.) You'll be prompted to select one repo to keep.

Premium Features to Remove

Harness Community excludes several of Harness Professional's enterprise security and other premium features. If you've configured any of these features, the migration process will remove them all as a group. Upon migrating, you'll be prompted to confirm this removal.

Single Sign-On (SSO): SSO via LDAP, SAML, or custom OAuth is available only in Harness Professional. If you've configured any of these mechanisms, you'll need to remove them upon migration. (Harness Community does support OAuth SSO via Google, Azure, GitHub, GitLab, Bitbucket, and LinkedIn accounts—features also supported in Harness Professional.)

IP Whitelisting: Whitelists (allowlists) of IP addresses or CIDR blocks are supported only in Harness Professional. If you've imposed any such restrictions on logins to your Harness account, you'll need to remove them.

Two-Factor Authentication: 2FA restrictions on logins to your Harness account are supported only in Harness Professional.

Deployment Governance: The Deployment Freeze option is available only in Harness Professional.

API Keys: You'll need a Harness Professional account to generate API keys to integrate with third-party apps.

Secrets Management: Integrations with third-party Secret Managers are supported only in Harness Professional. When you migrate to Harness Community, we'll consolidate all your configured secrets in Harness' built-in Secret Manager.

Role-Based Access Control (RBAC): Harness Professional allows advanced, customizable access control—you can assign your users to multiple Harness User Groups, with different security roles and permissions. Harness Community supports only a single Account Administrator group. When you migrate to Community, we’ll consolidate all your users to that group, where they’ll inherit its configured permissions.

Template Library: Templates for scripts and Service Commands are supported only in Harness Professional. When you migrate to Community, we'll move templated commands directly into the workflows/pipelines that reference templates.

24/7 Service Guard: Continuous monitoring of live services is available only in Harness Professional. Harness Community supports only basic Deployment Verification.

Tags Management: You'll need a Harness Professional account to access the Tags Management page, create new Tag keys, or restrict Tags’ values. When you migrate to Harness Community, users can continue to attach and remove existing Tags on Application components, but Tags with Allowed Values will convert to unrestricted values.

Custom Dashboards: Harness Community preserves any Custom Dashboards you’ve created, but removes options to display their visualizations, and to edit or add dashboards. Upgrading to Harness Professional restores these options.

Premium Features to Refactor

Migrating to Harvest Community will switch off certain other Harness Professional premium features. To keep your deployments running as expected, you'll need to refactor any Workflow/Pipelines that use these features. When you migrate, we'll notify you about any affected Workflows/Pipelines, but we can't make these adjustments automatically—you must adjust them manually after migrating.

As with certain other Community restrictions listed on this page, you'll be making permanent changes to your Harness configuration. Remember that you also have the option to retain all the premium features you've configured, by purchasing a Harness Professional license.

Live Notifications: Integrating automatic notifications with Slack, Jira, or ServiceNow is supported only in Harness Professional. After migrating to Harness Community, you'll need to reset any configured notifications as email notifications.

Flow Controls: Barrier and similar flow-control commands are supported only in Harness Professional. After migrating to Harness Community, you'll need to remove these commands from affected Workflows.

Approval Flows: Approvals via Jira, ServiceNow, Harness User Groups, and custom Shell Scripts are supported only in Harness Professional. After migrating, you'll need to reconfigure affected Pipelines to use only manual approvals.


How did we do?